Silver Anniversary Scholarship

Established in 2008 for Hospitality NL’s 25th anniversary year, the Silver Anniversary Scholarship is generously supported by the Boone family and the Sparkes family, two families with a long tradition of innovation and leadership within the tourism community.


Applications for the 2017 Silver Anniversary Scholarship must be submitted no later than 3:00 pm on Friday, August 11, 2017. To access the application form and all application criteria, please click the following link:

*Please save application to your computer before completing the fields*
Download Application

Presented annually to two deserving students, the Scholarship was established to assist the recipients with their pursuit of post-secondary education. Proudly supported by the Boone Family and the Sparkes Family, two scholarships in the amount of $1,500.00 each are available for the academic year beginning September 2017.


To be considered, scholarship candidates must be:

  • A dependent* or employee of a Hospitality NL member organization in good standing.
  • Either a graduate of a Newfoundland and Labrador high school in the current calendar year, or a returning student, enrolled in a recognized post-secondary program or institution either within or outside of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Candidates must also complete and submit the scholarship application form as well as a 300-500 word essay and submit all supporting documents.

* Dependant is defined as a person who is financially supported by a Hospitality NL member in the following situations:

  • Financially supported by an employee working in a member business
  • Financially supported by the owner/operator of a member business

The applications of candidates meeting the above considerations will be forwarded to the selection committee. Applications are weighed on a number of factors including:

  • Educational goals and direction
  • Academic performance
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Community involvement
  • Quality and content of essay
Past recipients

2016: Emily Chislett and Joshua Lehr
2015: Julie Goudie and Cecily Parsons
2014: Terra Barrett and Luke Norman Parsons
2013: Tania Heath and Kristen Peckford
2012: Whitney Sharpe and Toni Kearney
2011: Megan Laite and Shardi Janes
2010: Theoren Goosney and Michaela Jacobs
2009: Nicole Alexander and Sarah Murphy
2008: Marieke Gow and Shaundel Leamon


How do I?

  • Stay in Touch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.