Target Tourism Champion Award of Excellence

The successes of the tourism industry in Newfoundland and Labrador have not happened by accident. Countless supporters have worked diligently to ensure that our industry prospers, and as such have given freely of their time, often at personal expense because they are passionate about this industry. They are true advocates of the industry creating positive changes. The Target Tourism Champion Award recognizes individuals, companies, or organizations who give selflessly of their time and energy to champion the interests of and enhance the tourism industry.


Please note: 

  • Nominees must be approved under the Tourism Assurance Plan. Learn more.
  • Nominees must be members of Hospitality NL in good standing.
  • Only complete nomination forms will be accepted.
  • Nominations must adhere to the word limit and supporting documentation guidelines.
Previous Award Winners:
[Formerly The Golden Umbrella Award]
2023   Rex Avery, Steele Hotels
2022   Rugged Edge ATV & Snowmobile Rentals & Tours, Corner Brook
2021   Marieke Gow, Artisan Inn & Twine Loft Dining, Trinity
2020   David Hayashida and Linda Yates, Kings Point Pottery, Kings Point
2019   Wooden Boat Museum of NL, Winterton
2018   John Norman, Bonavista
2017   Cathy Lomond, Hotel Port aux Basques, Port aux Basques
2016   Wayne Hallett, Prints of Whales Inn, Sandringham
2015   Gros Morne Co-operating Association
2014   Rick Stanley, Ocean Quest Adventures
2013   Gordon Slade, Shorefast Foundation
2012   Wayne Follett, Marine Atlantic
2010   Yvonne Power
2008   Kathryn Elliot
2007   Shelia Kelly-Blackmore, St. Jude Hotel, Clarenville; AND Chad Hart
2006   Roger Jamieson, Kilmory Resort, Swift Current
2004   Earl Howell
2003   Steve Watson, Chef, Central Dairies
2002   Stelman Flynn, Seaview Restaurant and Cabins, Forteau; AND Derm Flynn, Gander
2001   Mary Taylor-Ash
2000   Interprovincial Airlines; AND Stan Cook Jr, Wilderness Newfoundland Adventures
1999   Nick McGrath; Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency; AND Frank Murphy
1997   Terry Chaffey; Doug Burgess; AND Liam Sneyd
1996   John Dicks; AND Kathy Crotty
1993   Jennette Pelly; AND Stelman Flynn, Seaview Restaurant and Cabins, Forteau
1990   Mike Joy; AND Steve Sparkes


To submit a nomination for the Target Tourism Champion Award, complete the following 4-part nomination form.

*Nominations open on Monday November 27th, 2023.
Nomination deadline extended until January 3rd, 2024 at 11:59am (NST).


How do I?

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.