Sustainable Tourism Award of Excellence


A high-quality tourism experience depends on the conservation of our natural resources, the protection of our environment, and the preservation of our cultural heritage. The tourism industry in Newfoundland and Labrador recognizes that the long-term sustainability of tourism depends on the delivery of a high-quality product and a welcoming spirit among our employees and our host communities. It depends as well on the wise use and conservation of our natural resources; the protection and enhancement of our environment; and the preservation of our cultural, historic, and aesthetic resources.

This award is presented by Hospitality NL and Parks Canada to the industry operator or organization that has made strides in sustainable tourism practices and continually works toward the protection of our natural and cultural resources.


Please note: 

  • Nominees must be approved under the Tourism Assurance Plan. Learn more.
  • Nominees must be members of Hospitality NL in good standing.
  • Only complete nomination forms will be accepted.
  • Nominations must adhere to the word limit and supporting documentation guidelines.

Previous Award Winners:

2023   Gros Morne Adventures, Norris Point
2022   Fishing for Success, Petty Harbour
2021   Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium, Petty Harbour
2020   Two Whales Coffee Shop, Port Rexton
2019   Not awarded this year
2018   Shorefast Foundation, Fogo Island
2017   Mistaken Point Cape Race Heritage Inc., Trepassey
2016   Prime Berth Fishing Museum, Twillingate
2015   Bonne Bay Marine Station & Aquarium, Bonne Bay
2014   Marble Inn Resort, Steady Brook
2013   Nunatsiavut Solutions, Operators of the Torngat Mountains Base Camp & Research Station
2012   Riverfront Chalets & Rafting, Exploits River
2011   MUN Botanical Gardens, St. John’s
2010   Town of Bonavista, Bonavista
2009   The Johnson Family Foundation, St. John’s
2008   Victorian Manor Heritage Properties, Bonne Bay
2007   Agvituk Historical Society, Hopedale
2006   Coastal Connections, Holyrood
2005   Rick Stanley, Ocean Quest Inc, St. John’s
2004   CATIC-2003
2003   Reg Williams, Bon Tours, Norris Point
2002   Barb Genge, Tuckamore Lodge, Main Brook
2001   Dr. Jon Lien
2000   Dave Snow, Wildland Tours, St. John’s
1999   Wilderness Newfoundland Adventures, Cape Broyle
1998   Sue Rendell & Bob Hicks, Gros Morne Adventure Guides, Norris Point
1997   East Coast Trail Association, St. John’s
1996   Terry Goodyear, Environmental Resources Management Association, Grand Falls; AND Gerald Smith, Dildo Island Tours, Dildo


To submit a nomination for the Sustainable Tourism Award, complete the following 4-part nomination form.

Nomination deadline extended until January 3rd, 2024 at 11:59am (NST).


How do I?

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.